Keyboard for an ‘Octo’pus

Organ

Lightdance, May 8, 2011

The ballroom in the Conservatory of Longwood Gardens houses the newly restored 10,010 pipe organ, museum and interactive music room for hands-on discovery.

    • pete s.
    • May 8th, 2011

    Somewhere, somewhen, some other me has finished what I started to dream about, while I experimented with making organ pipes from wrapping-paper-, and carpet cardboard tubes and giving them voice with a reversed vacuum cleaner for a wind chest, and collected enough parts and assembled one of these in a *Very* high-ceilinged home somewhere, to noodle on the keys deep into the night. Sigh. Fun for Hallowe’en, anyway.
    I was tempted to put this on my computer background right away, but your Morning Glories shot still provides an important stress-relief function there. Besides, I’d probably get fingerprints all over my monitor, poking the keys to music in my head . Neat shot!
    Cheers!

  1. Hi Pete, I’ve always credited you with a creative imagination. I’m glad my faith in you hasn’t been misplaced. Go to Longwood Gardens. They have already put together the wrapping paper and carpet cardboard tubes – all 10,010 of them!- and they let you play it. Well, probably not “it”, but something that sounds like “it.” I sincerely hope you have a piano. Any keyboard!
    I was inspired to take piano lessons when my daughter took them. I played with great feeling, but very slowly, since it took me so long to read notes. My daughter didn’t last long. She read notes like a whiz, but the lack of feeling made it obvious how much she enjoyed it.

    @pete s.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment