Holly Street Garden in Infrared

Spring Garden

PAD April 11. 2010

I post today’s photo as an illustration of the beauty of infrared photography,  a salute to the artist who created such an appealing garden, and as an illustration of the dilemma of choosing all the right camera equipment that might eventually be wanted on any given photography excursion. As beautiful as this garden is in infrared light,  the vision of it in color was perfection, and I only had the infrared camera with me! The Irises, the first I’ve seen blooming this spring, were dark purple against the riot of lavender Phlox that spilled over the wall. This garden is on Holly St. in East Nashville.

    • pete s.
    • April 11th, 2010

    That is so trippy! Cool example of the infrared image. i think that each photographer who gets advanced enough to be stuck hauling around almost forty pounds of gear (though my sister’s cat LOVED to sleep in the top compartment of my photography backpack, lol) ought to be issued a llama or even some sort of photographer’s caddy to help with the load on days like your excursion, in order to get color, IR, and a black-and-white to put beside the IR for comparison . I’m here trying to guess how different the dark purple iris in the front yard are from their stem color and coming up with nearly a stop and a third in my head, quite evidently different in the reflected infrared. Hope I understand that better soon!
    I like the balance in this image and the geometry in it; very nice to follow the eye around in!
    Cheers!
    pete

  1. @pete s. Thanks, Pete. I’m trying, and almost succeeding, to like the IR image of the Holly St. Garden as much as I think I would like the color. It was really beautiful. I hate to be bogged down with equipment, so I try to anticipate. I would be very mad if I went on a photo excursion and found out part of the weight I was lugging around was a sleeping cat!.

  2. Infrared was just made for foliage I swear! Love this 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment