Virginia Creeper

Virginia Creeper

PAD December 20, 2010

Virginia Creeper looks a lot like poison ivy, if you don’t count the leaves. LIke poison ivy, it is a winter show-off.

    • Susan
    • December 20th, 2010

    I have a vision of you in a park uniform greeting visitors and guiding tours along the trails. In fact you may already be more knowledgeable than the current park staff. Nice picture, by the way.

  1. @Susan I know, I’m turning into a one-note-johnny. Once in awhile I pass a person with a dog, so I am taking shots of people, too.

  2. Very pretty, we have that here too, but we have TONS of poison ivy. Joke around here that its Cape Cod’s national flower, scratch scratch.

  3. @Jane There’s a lot of it in Radnor, too. They don’t do anything to get rid of it, they say because it’s a native plant, but I think it’s just to keep us walkers on the trail.

  4. Beautiful!

  5. @Cindy Hamilton Thanks Cindy.

    • pete s.
    • December 20th, 2010

    Wow! Shy little thing in the winter, isn’t it…not! Beautiful . It must be quite spectacular when it overgrows a large area..kind of like a vegetative Yosemite firefall. These make me wonder to what end all that red spectrum is reflected in winter. Nicely done, bringing the red back to the nearly glowing reds of wotcha see in situ; I’ve been frustrated by that a lot. I had gotten lazy; looking for red leaves that are in a stray beam of sunlight, back-lit if possible, somewhere in a shaded plant, but that approach is rather limiting 😛
    Cheers!

  6. @pete s. To what end? So that I could take a picture of it, of course! Glad you checked in. I hope things are progressing satisfactorily.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment