Clematis Nelly Moser

Clematis Blossom

PAD April 10, 2010

If I could pick only one flower for in my garden, I think it would be the Clematis.

    • Susan Patton
    • April 10th, 2010

    Another beautiful flower. I think you are seriously on to something with your flowere photographs. You could (should) become rich and famous with these consistantly gorgeous shots. (That was 99% truth and 1% suck-up…glad you still love me!)

  1. What a lovely close-up!
    They certainly are lovely flowers, I cant grow them well here, but next year, Im going to plant one in our garden where it will get more sun. That might solve our problem, as ours are in the shade.

    • Terri
    • April 10th, 2010

    GORGEOUS…this is spectacular! I love these as well…and you’ve captured it just perfectly…love the DOF, color and light…way to go, Karol!

  2. @Terri Thanks, Terri. It is nice of you to take time from your lovely vacation to comment. You have way too much fun! Not really. You deserve it. -k-

  3. @Susan Patton Thanks, Susan, for the nice comment on the flowers, and for the huge surprise laugh this morning! I was NOT expecting that!

  4. @Jane Thanks, Jane. I don’t remember Clematis growing in Michigan. Mich. and Mass. must be in the wrong zone.

  5. They will grow in MA, but they need a sheltered and sunny spot.
    We also can grow Mimosa trees(silk tree), this is about the most north spot for them too.
    And this is the most northern place for Fiddler Crabs too.
    They call us here on Cape Cod, the “Bermuda of the North”, but once in a while we can get hit with a very cold winter. Like 6 years ago when the cold killed most of my rose-garden and all the butterfly bushes in our little town.
    Ive had to re-plant all my roses, but this time went with a more hardy type.
    Also the salt air can desiccate some plants, so we have to pick and choose what can tolerate that, and our summers can be very dry and windy.
    The challenge is fun though.

    • pete s.
    • April 10th, 2010

    Hi Karol! We have a couple of clematis vines in back, each threatening to take over the world in its own way (the non-wild variety made it across forty feet of neighboring backyard until I noticed it just about 8 feet short of the lower crossbar of the utility pole whose guy wire it was climbing). Not as aggressive as the wisteria, fortunately; our wild clematis variety simply wants to take over the weeping spruce and the neighboring oak tree, silly thing. But neither are a colorful eyeful such as you’ve captured here. What is it you say to the flowers you shoot that make them smile for the camera? Seems to work, you end up with such beautiful flower portraits!
    Btw, this one also makes a lovely big wallpaper on the big flat screen monitor. Can’t leave it up, not my machine to choose things about, but it’s spectacular, big like that. Pesky little icons are in the way a bit, though.

    Simply gorgeous image, congrats!

    Cheers!
    pete

  6. @pete s. I have indeed heard about the gigantic flowers you all grow in California – 15 foot geraniums, Etc. I love to think that the flowers smile for me, as I have a hard time getting the people in my life to do it!

  7. That is a gorgeous flower! I’m fond of my Peonies but I see the attraction to these too. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment